Day 3-My Favorite Season

*Not sure what happened to this entry, definitely wrote and published yesterday but alas, nothing here…let’s try this again!

If you know me at all, you know that fall is my absolute favorite season.  There is something about the smell of apples and cinnamon and the crisp in the air that just warms my soul.  Long before the height of Pumpkin everything, fall has long stole my heart.

I love football, the food–chili, soups and warm dips (all football watching appropriate)–as well as squash, casseroles and warm beverages.  I love the temperatures–which leads to the clothing. Layers, boots, flannel and sweaters are all the norm. Now with this comes the retiring of flip-flops, shorts and sunscreen. All good things in their own right. Perhaps it’s my red-headed nature and the fact that the pool or beach has always been associated with sunscreen application on the reg, summer just isn’t my jam.

The biggest heart-warmer for me are the colors of fall. Red, bright orange, crisp yellow–they all attract my eye and make my heart go pitter-patter.  I love seeing the crisp coolness of fall out my window as I’m all cozy inside under a blanket with my favorite warm beverage of the day with my favorite book.

But what is fall really–it’s a season preparing for stopping. For death even. Harvest means that there are no more fresh veggies on my table–the last of the corn, tomatoes and zucchini grace my recipes and the influx of potatoes, pumpkin, stuffed squash are on the rise. Those with resilience. Why do I stop and take a photo of my favorite tree all bright in color knowing that it is on it’s way to death?

2012-10-14 08.44.38

How often do I stop in my own life and recognize the beauty of things slowing down, the change that occurs when I recognize my limitations and know that perhaps I’m called to hunker down, look out my window and remember.  Fall is a season that calls us to remember–see these dead leaves on the ground?  1) there’s beauty in that that no longer has a purpose and 2) it is a promise of what is to come.

Isaiah 43:19 says I am going to do something new. It is already happening. Don’t you recognize it? I will clear a way in the desert. I will make rivers on dry land.”

In order for something new to occur, we have to make space for it.

I’m making space.  And recognizing the beauty that comes with that.

Check out my other #Write31Days challenge entries here.

Leave a Reply

