{What I Wore Wednesday}–Conference Edition

Linking up with The Pleated Poppy and the What I Wore Wednesday Challenge.

***************************************************************

Still trying to figure out the photo thing…very difficult when the beau leaves for work long before I do and I need new lighting.  Perhaps I’ll ask for a new full length mirror for Christmas to put in a better-lit place in our home.  Moving on…

I was at a work conference last week and got a quick pic with the folks I eat lunch with almost every day.  So blessed to have such wonderful coworkers.

Orange Sweater–Khols

Snakeskin Skirt–Lane Bryant (circa 2001)

Black Necklace and Belt–can’t recall

Has anyone else out there been in denial that Christmas is right around the corner?  I’m loving fall so much this year that I don’t want to think about Christmas.  Unfortunately, I can’t help but be sucked in my all the sales and deal emails I’ve been getting in my inbox.  Black Friday.  Ugh.  A few alternatives…

1) Pure Charity.  This is brilliant  y’all!  Sign up for an account here, download the plugin to your browser and start shopping online.  A percentage of your purchase will go to the charity of your choice.  You can also register your main credit/debit card to do the same when you are out in the stores!  There are a TON of charities using Pure Charity and a TON of retailers participating.  Some of my favorites include Target, Apple, Home Depot, Pottery Barn, Old Navy and Land’s End!  Woohoo!

2) Shop Small Saturday.  For those of us who avoid Black Friday, but still like to get all our shopping done during the actual Christmas Season, Shop Small Saturday allows you to shop at your favorite local stores to give back to the local economy.  Also, shopping small online retailers is a great way to support your friends who may be trying to work from home, raise money for adoption or just utilize their skills and talents on the side.  Also, if you use American Express, you can register your AMEX and obtain a $25 statement credit.

My friend Amanda just launched her shop and is offering $5 off your purchase through Saturday.  I’ve seen her scarves in person and they. are. gorgeous!

One of my former RA’s and her husband are working diligently to raise money to adopt from Africa.  They are selling these beautiful Christmas ornaments to raise money for the adoption. They also come in many beautiful colors!

So as you go out this week to check-off your holiday shopping list, I encourage you to think before you swipe, do as I’ll do and shop at home in your jammies listening to Christmas music (finally!) and donate to a good cause or a friend while you’re at it.  And don’t forget to forward this post on to your significant other–we all need to step up our WIWW game in the new year!

Be well (and be intentional, even with your wardrobe!)

One thought on “{What I Wore Wednesday}–Conference Edition

Leave a Reply

