What I Wore Wednesday: Newbie!

When I turned the big 3-0 eighteen months ago, I had a revelation.  I LOVED turning 30, but didn’t really want to be seen as thirty.  I had always been a really simple gal when it came to fashion– no frills, simple pearl studs were my go-to earrings and as far as putting together an outfit, well, I just wore the clothes that were in my closet and that was about it.  Not super intentional.

But 30 really got me thinking.  And reading.  I started following this gal on how to re-work your closet (since I wasn’t about to go out and buy an entirely new wardrobe) and then stumbled upon this gal who posts for “real sized gals” and I just love her stuff!  I wanted to dress with more intention.  If I desire to be intentional in all aspects of my life, why was I so careless about this one?  I know it’s not all about appearances (see post on authenticity), but I find I have much more confidence if I feel good in the clothes I’m wearing.  And If I’m feeling more confident, then I’ll always get more accomplished at work, home and all areas of life.

At Allume, I was talking with Amanda about finding our style Pin-spiration and she mentioned The Pleated Poppy and the What I Wore Wednesday Challenge.

So this is my first #WIWW post and it’s just a pic of today’s outfit.  Perhaps I’ll have more from the upcoming week to share next Wednesday.  I struggle taking photos of myself due to difficult lighting in our bedroom, but I’ll try and get creative here to post outfits.  Thanks to my lovely intern for snapping this pic (and not making me feel like an idiot for wanting to start posting to #WIWW!)

WIWW 11.7.12Jacket–Kohls clearance (several years ago)

Dress–The Limited (from a clearance rack at Ross, I believe)

Scarf–Target

Leggings–Wal Mart

Boots–Chinese Laudnry from the 6pm Outlet (Similar found here)

Be well (and be intentional!)

6 thoughts on “What I Wore Wednesday: Newbie!

Leave a Reply

