Returning Home (and a recipe!)

I’m a slow thinker.  I need time to process.  I got home from Allume Sunday at 3pm and had to go to work at 8am Monday.  17 hours to come down off that unbelievable high and snap back into the real world that life M-F, 8-5 of tutor requests, advising for spring semester, interns, email and phone calls.  The tug on my heartstrings for my sisters who were impacted by the weather or had crazy health issues who landed them in the ER the last night of the conference were flittering through my mind all day.

Needless to say, this slow thinker and process-er still is processing.  And three days just couldn’t be processed in those 17 hours.  I debriefed with iBloom, the sponsoring team that I went with fto Allume, immediately unpacked my bags as soon as I arrived home (learning more with each trip I go on I am an over-packer).  The beau was studying hard for a huge test  so as much as I wanted to connect and share all that had happened, he wasn’t at his breaking point yet, so a cup of coffee and a book were waiting for me. (Don’t fret, I’m carving out some time this weekend for a full re-cap post!)

That’s what I needed.  As much as I wanted to dive into my notes and finish emailing the amazing women I had met, I just needed some time with a book and my favorite mug.

And after dinner, my sweet tooth kicked it, as it often does, and the Banana Pumpkin Freeze was born.

Ingredients:

  • 2 frozen bananas (the more ripe, the sweeter)
  • 1/2 c. can pumpkin (could use fresh and pureed)
  • 1/3-1/2 c. of coconut milk (use to thicken/thin) out
  • dash of vanilla extract
  • dash of pumpkin pie spice
  • Optional: Dark chocolate chips, maple syrup (if it’s not sweet enough for you!)

Directions:

  • Slice bananas and place into blender with milk; blend.
  • Add vanilla extract, pumpkin and pumpkin pie spice
  • Add more milk if needed and continue blending
  • Add dark chocolate chips and a few pulses to chop up.
  • Serve in your favorite glass or mason jar and ENJOY!

Be well,

One thought on “Returning Home (and a recipe!)

  1. Pingback: Truth. « pliable

Leave a Reply

