It’s the most wonderful time of the year…

Pumpkin Spice Chai filling my cup.

Madeline Peyreoux on Pandora.

New lovely Sharpie Pens to celebrate learning and the beginning of the school year.

Fall smells and sights around our home.

My jean skirt and favorite NYC hoodie–so well worn in.

Sounds of college football on the tv all weekend long.

Crockpot chili on a Saturday.

Some red leaves even with the dry, dry summer.

Things are busy, but oh so good. Life is just so rich friends. I promise. Drink it up. Even the parts that might not seem so satisfying–they are good for your soul. Discipline to get up super early and do household chores makes coming home and putting your feet up a lot easier to stomach. We haven’t got this thing licked; by no means do we have all the answers. But we can curl up with the cup of warm tea, a familiar book (even if for only 15 minutes), in our most comfortable comfort wear and remember that feeling. For some of us (I call us mountain people), this is our haven. This is the place that we are most ourselves. Most energized. Most refreshed. Others may get those same results driving through the summer days with the windows down, splashing through creeks and oceans, drinking sweet tea and constantly feeling alive by the sun beating down on your face (beach people).

I am a mountain girl. I love them both, don’t get me wrong, but I just so so so love the changing leaves, the pumpkin desserts, and the sound of the marching band–they all signal fall and getting away to retreat–mountains. I love the coziness of my wardrobe. I’ve even realized that I have an affinity for the wardrobe of the folks on one of my favorite shows, Parenthood. Why? It’s constantly fall there in the Berkley/San Francisco Bay area (at least on the show).

Even when life is a million kinds of crazy, I’m gonna pretend I’m cozied up next to Kristina Braverman there in that turquoise chair, sipping on coffee (as they drink the stuff non-stop) and jump right in to the craziness of their life. Their family. Their community.

That’s what I’m doing in my own life. Jumping in. Embracing the chaos. Being okay with days so busy there is no time to check facebook or tweet or instagram the lovely sunset you enjoyed on your drive home.

What’s important is that you drove home. You arrived. You made it and were able to pull up a chair to whatever table that awaited you (mine doesn’t look like the one above either), and you were able to be. That’s what the Braverman’s do. They just are. All their messy-ness out there for all to see.

So when you pull out that hoodie that’s aged with many washings and curl up under that favorite blanket and pull the book that’s been calling your name for months off the shelf–you just are. Whether this is your time of year or not–enjoy it.

Be well,

Faith

Leave a Reply

