Radically Responsible

There’s never a good time to make drastic changes to your life, right?  That’s what I keep hearing.  There’s always distractions, life curve balls and the “I’ll start on Monday” mentality that plagues some of us from time to time from really getting on the saddle and reaching our goals, whatever those may be.

I have some folks I’ve gotten to know through various means over the past 7 months of 2012 who have really encouraged me in so many ways to really take the bull by the horns and start doing those little things that will make a difference in my life.  Friends via Twitter and Facebook who are setting and attaining major goals like running a marathon or completing a triathlon.  Friends from Facebook groups who are living into their life’s purpose and aren’t afraid to share it.

Dream Journal

I think one thing I’m realizing though is that it’s difficult for me to focus on more than one “major” undertaking at a time.  For instance, when I was training for the Half-Marathon, I felt my life revolved around that training.  There were most definitely things in life that hit the back-burner.  Important things.  And the life happens (both the good and the challenging aspects) and the cycle begins again.

Now, I’m not saying that you can have it all (don’t even get me started on that topic), but I do believe there is a way to manage what you have or what you desire to have.  A better way than what I’ve been living out lately.

Our little family is about to experience quite a big change–the Beau is starting Nursing School in three weeks.  We have lots of things we want to do before he does that.  Things around our home.  Date nights.  Finishing the entire series of LOST (I know some of you out there cannot believe that I’m finally caving to watch it!).  We also have got to figure out how to manage it all.  I know I’m not the only one in this boat and that’s comforting.  It’s just hard at times to not feel that you’ve given up, you’ve loosened your grip on some goals and had to say no.  It’s that feeling of disappointing others, but also disappointing yourself.

Thankfully, I’ve gotten to the point where I’m ready to jump in the game-forget sitting on the sidelines seeing all the progress in health and life and business and family that these folks are making.  I want to be there too.  Now, it may  not happen completely tomorrow.  We’ve got to become accustomed to a few things with this new schedule and all that we’re hoping to complete in these 3 weeks.

I’m thankful to have seen this today.  It came at just the right time.  I’m ready.

“Choose to be radically responsible for who you are.” Danielle LaPorte

I must be responsible for me.  I’m the only one there is.  And I know that I’m meant  to be something greater than I have been–do something great in this one glorious life I’ve been granted.

Best,

2 thoughts on “Radically Responsible

  1. Kowabunga Dude! You are such an inspiration to me Faith!
    You sure know how to express, what I am sure a lot of us are feeling! I have had several times in my life, when I have become sensitive to how I am living my life and what my purpose is here. I am once again in the mode of being the best me that God intended.
    Thanks for the inspiration!

  2. Pingback: #honesty-day #2 « pliable

Leave a Reply

