10 Miles and more races?

I did something this weekend that I never thought I would do.

I didn’t even set out to do it on Saturday.

Run 10 miles.  10 miles? Yup.  Sure enough.

The beau and I headed out to a beautiful nearby town to meet the other LexRunLadies and another running group who was running parts of the Iron Horse Half Marathon route.  When we were getting ready early to make the trek out there, the beau said, “I cannot believe we are about to run 10 miles!” and I immediately clamored back, “No, we’re not.  We’re only slated to run 9 today!”  You see our plan actually had us running two 9 mile runs on back to back Saturdays.

We got out there, started running and it was beautiful.  I mean, it was chilly to start off, but the course is truly beautiful and there’s nothing like running in pure, bottomless sunshine.  As I’m running and hit 6 miles, I realize that I’ve got a little bit before I’m supposed to head back and turn around to get back into town and from that turn-around spot, it was a 3 mile run.

I could possibly run 10.

So I did.

And it was magnificent. It was one of the hardest things I’ve done.  But it was magnificent.  I’m still trying to figure out my fueling power, and getting that extra “ooomph!” to get up and go when my legs and brain are telling me to just walk for a minute.

But nonetheless.  I ran 10 miles on Saturday.

The beau and I celebrated by breakfasting at our favorite spot in Georgetown on the way home.  I heard from a friend (also training for her first half-marathon) who got advice from the folks at John’s Run Walk Shop in Lex that when you run your first 10 miler, celebrate by having a slice of pie.  Well, we were at Fava’s…so…there was pie.

We ran some errands, got home, watched the UK game, ate our pie and recovered.  There is quite a difference from recovery to resting.  For sure.

I immediately started thinking of what races I wanted to keep running.  After being out there on that course on Saturday, I knew that I wanted to be back out there in October with autumn leaves falling to the ground around me and decrease my time by quite a bit.  But there has to be additional cross training, more races and weight lifting for me to get faster and decrease that time.

Enter the Race Calendar.

These are all still in flux, but as of right now, this is our race calendar for the remainder of 2012.

As running mate of several LexRunLadies Mark the Beast said earlier today, “Are you waiting for the perfect time to make changes in your life? I think now is a perfectly good time.”  Get out your calendar, the checkbook and join me for one of these races! Some of the 5K’s listed on the John’s Run Walk Race Calendar are only $15!

There are several others that will be coming up that will most likely get added to the list.  For real…what are you waiting for?  Sign up and join me!

Best,

4 thoughts on “10 Miles and more races?

  1. Pingback: Weekly Roundup-March 18, 2012 « pliable

Leave a Reply

