Weekly Roundup-March 3, 2012

Goals:

  • Physical–Overall, I have felt so much better this week!  Physically, my runs have been more en pointe, I’ve had more motivation at work and felt really great.  So far this week I’ve ran 11 miles, pulling my first 7 miler before work yesterday.  I’m very thankful to have a flexible work environment that understands my training must be ramped up for the next month and I may be a little late 1-2 days a week.  I’m looking forward to my first run on Saturday with Lex Ladies Run.  I have been so encouraged this week by their online presence and encouragement.  Now that I’m in the homestretch of my training, I really need to pick up the pace and intensity and I’m certain that having a group of ladies to run with will do the trick.  There are several 3K’s and 5K’s they are participating in before our 1/2 Marathon, but even one run with them before the big day will be great!  I’m looking to clock 9 miles, my longest run ever!  Say a little prayer for me!  I’ve also been wanting to get back in the gym and throw some weights around.  Not only will it be great physical training and a way to get some stress relief, but most women I’ve seen who have dropped some serious pounds have spent their time in the gym at some point.  It will be much easier to run those 13 miles in 29 days if I can drop a few more pounds by then.  Now that I’m getting more comfortable with running longer distances during the week, I may pick back up my Cardio Sculpt class twice a week at work.
  • Spiritual–I’m still hearing a lot about the darkness and the light, but this week’s theme has been “Rooted.”  Now, if you know me at all, you know I love trees.  I love the imagery of trees and their deep rootedness, I got a tree pendant for Christmas and even have a Tree Pinterest board.  I love Ephesians 3:17 that says “I pray that love may be the ground into which you sink your roots and on which you have your foundation.”  That may be my favorite verse.  So anyway, along with the images of dark and light, I’ve been reminded of the importance of having a solid foundation and making your roots sink deep.  Roots were even mentioned in the church service we attended on Sunday when we took a day away to Cincinnati.  I’m also back to reading The Circle Maker and it’s been need to see a type of rootedness he describes when talking about “Hyperlinking” your prayers.  So need how God created us for connection and to have a solid foundation  and we have that ability if we look for it.
  • Creative–I  have several ideas and am making this my accountability statement that I will spend some time this Sunday during our Sabbath to put those ideas into action!
  • Home--Saturday was really productive at our house as we not have our Deep Freeze hooked up in our basement AND lights downstairs with a switch!  Before we just had clamp lamps and it made doing laundry a bit scary.  Laundry is much more enjoyable now!  As I mentioned earlier, we took off on a spur of the moment Cincinnati Trip for the day on Sunday as a bit of a get-a-way.  We enjoyed a service at Crossroads Cincinnati and burger madness at Arthurs,but we also wanted to run some errands at our favorite Cincy Stores, Trader Joes, The Container Store and Ikea.  The Container Store wasn’t open yet when we were on that side of town, but we had a very fruitful visit to TJ’s and Ikea.  We had a budget at Ikea and stayed within it (WOWZA!) even though there were a few extra things not on our list that ended up in our cart.  We have already “implemented” several of our purchases–paper towel holder and a bathroom towel holder, and have several others hoping to be utilized soon.  We scored some curtains for the living room and some really great fabric on sale that I’m going to make (with help of course) some curtains for the window in our stairwell.  At the time, we weren’t sure where they were going to go, but since having them home and doing some clean up and re-organizing furniture around the house, I think it’ll be the perfect fit for the stairwell.  And for $2.99 a yard, how could I pass this up?

    Love a Deal!

  • Personal–Although Sunday was a busy day since we were out of town, it was a great weekend overall.  It’s always nice to take a step back from the norm and do something random and sporadic (and for all you folks who know the planner in me well, yes, I promise this is me still writing!).  I’m learning that sometimes, you just need to pack up and get out of dodge for a bit!  Again, this week overall has been really great–I’ve felt in the groove with my running, productivity at work and home, balanced with rest (we may or may not have been in bed at 8pm last night!)  Looking forward to another similar weekend of balanced productivity on our home and rest (and crafting!  I haven’t forgotten!)

Mom Update: Mom is doing well–she has an appointment with an orthopedic doctor today about a back brace.  She was fitted for one a few weeks ago and should receive it today.  They’ve said they are pretty uncomfortable in the beginning and I’m praying that she’ll be able to endure the pain as I think it will be a great support for her back.  She hasn’t felt the greatest this week between her arthritis flaring up and just feeling a little sick, so I’m hoping a day out with her sister and Mom and good news at the orthopedist will be a good ending to her week.

Yummy Recipes! I had a few new recipes on the docket and some old standby’s . We enjoyed (and still are!) some great Pulled Pork on Monday.  This is SUCH an easy recipe and if you are at home to turn the pork, I’m sure it’d be even better.  Ours turned out a little charred since I was at work, but that’s okay with pulled pork, right?  You want that charred taste.  We had some staples of Pumpkin Chili and Harvest Stew this week as well–I haven’t fixed the harvest stew in a while and while it’s a staple in the fall, we had some sweet potatoes and apples that needed to be used and stew meat was on sale so we were sold!

“Pinteresting” Things:  If you’re on pinterest, feel free to follow my boards!

Absolutely beyond thrilled to try this during the weekend–having a lot of antique furniture, we have some water stains that just make me cringe everytime I see them!

water stain removal

GREAT inspiration for our reading room upstairs from this picture.  I absolutely love all the color even though the walls are very neutral!

Color!

I really want to do this as apart of my crafting on Sunday!  It’s so simple and easy.  Plus I have plenty of Mason Jars and jumbo craft sticks that I bought for another project I want to do–That picture is below also…perhaps I”ll knock them both out on Sunday!

date night in a jar

Prayer Sticks

Things I’m learning: Last week’s things I was learning: Margin.  Balance.  Rest.  This week has been the result of living into some of those things.  I still have to “knock it off” when I feel some perfectionism tendencies kicking in.  “Judge not least ye be judged” also applies to me.  If others I’m living life with–my spouse, friends and even co-workers (since I work at a faith based institution) are living into this scripture, hopefully they will be slow to judge when I integrate margin and balance into my life.   I also read this really great article sent to me from my friend Amanda about being positive towards our spouse, but I also think that can come into play with all relationships in life.  Thanks Amanda for sending that my way!

Interesting quote/Scripture:

I’ve already added many of my favorite quotes from my Book Review Post earlier this week–please check it out if you haven’t done so already! 

This song was played for us at my Huddle Group this week.  We were encouraged to listen to it as if God was singing it to us. (fast forward to 1:35 to miss some banter). And of course, I didn’t mind the artist at all, but it’s been really powerful to hear it in this fashion.

Hope you’ve had a great week!  Happy Weekend!

Leave a Reply

