My Lenten Season

When contemplating what I might “give up” for the Lenten season, I had several things I thought about, but the one I kept coming back to is a vice that I’ve given up before–coffee.  If you know me at all, you know that this is one of those things I love–not just the caffeine jolt it gives me, but the whole idea of coffee, I just totally dig.  I met a friend for Accountability weekly at a local coffee shop and we chat about life over our favorite cup of Joe, I have a weekend mug that accompanies me to church on Sundays and around the house on Saturday afternoons.  We received coffee as wedding gifts and local coffee is one of our favorite wedding gifts to give.  When I visit friends, they put a coffee maker in my room.

As you can see, I have quite an addiction to even have this many photos on my phone of coffee! 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So, needless to say, I felt the tug on my heartstrings to give up this dependency on java.  I was hoping to cut back in January as apart of my New Year’s goals to have more moderation in my life, but that didn’t happen.  My dependency should be on Christ–not coffee, or anything else for that matter.  There are still tons of other things I could have “given up” that I’m also dependent upon–Facebook, pinterest, my phone or internet while at home in the evenings just to name a few.

So with some #honesty coming through, the first two days were rough.  Not only were they super busy at work, I had a jolting headache from the lack of caffeine.  I even had to turn a cup of coffee down at my favorite diner who knew I always ordered a cup.  It’s never fun to realize something that you love has such affects on you when you take it away.  I will still drink coffee after Lent, I will just not be as dependent upon it.

It’s amazing after those two days just how clear headed I am.  I have been drinking a cup of tea in the mornings and I do love it.  We typically are nighttime tea drinkers–loving a little green tea or chamomile before bed.  Now a lovely chai or Earl Grey (My fav!) help get me going in the morning.

And another gift from some lovely students…

Yay for Chai Tea in a fun mug!

Best,

Leave a Reply

