Weekly Roundup-February 24, 2012

Goals:

  • Physical–It’s been a good week.  This week’s running schedule was a little lighter as compared to last week’s 8 miler to cap the week.  Speaking of that 8 miler–I did finish it.  Man—what a feeling of accomplishment and exhaustion all wrapped up into one 1/2 hour of laying on the couch with my legs elevated after it was over.  I know that continuing to lose some pounds will help out with some of the pain I’ve been experiencing in my knees.  I’ve been a little more lax in my eating –still eating “Paleo”, but with more choice meals and items than I know is good for me.  That will definitely be reigned in as I’ve seen such a difference in my energy level, my weight and just overall temperament this week.
  • Spiritual–I’ve put The Circle Maker on a bit of a hold to read a book I ordered so that I could participate in an online book club over at The Clothes Make The Girl for The Gifts of Imperfection.  Man–it is similar to One Thousand Gifts, in that I want to make this a book I read multiple times a year.  The author, Brene Brown, is a researcher at the University of Houston, but there have been so many spiritual “a-ha” moments, its’ just crazy. One thing I think is so neat is just the way that God chooses to echo certain things over and over and over in your life.  Right now, it’s all about the darkness and the light. In the [somewhat] words of Kari Jobe, “I am the light of the world–I am a city on a hill…”  I wasn’t able to go to an Ash Wednesday service this week which made me very sad, but I had some great discussions with some students about it.  Being that I’m giving up one of my major vices, I’ve had to retrain the folks at the local establishments I visit that my ‘”regular” order will be sans my favorite beverage for a while. More on this to come…
  • Creative–Still at a standstill in this area.  But, I did read a great thought on creativity last night in The Gifts of Imperfection that really got me motivated. Brene says “If creativity is seen as a luxury or something we do when we have spare time, it will never be cultivated.”  (p.97). Talk about being convicted for “lack of time” for projects!  I must make this a priority to cultivate my giftedness–whether that is blogging, crafting or letter writing.
  • Home--Things just feel so much “homier”–it’s amazing what real furniture, lamps and some intentional home-care will do.  We still have some projects that need finishing, but I’m hopeful to have some updates on those soon.  And I was reminded that I really need to post some photo updates of our hose on the blog–I can’t believe that hasn’t happened yet!  Perhaps that will be a project I tackle in March–I only have a few days to finish my February project!  This week we began implementing our daily cleaning blitz and so far, I think it’s gonna be really great for us to make sure our home is clean on a consistent basis.  When you live in an older home you are renovating, in the beginning it just NEVER feels clean, but since it’s feeling more like home, it’s just become more obvious how dirty our old home can get. 🙂  We take 15, 20, 30 minutes (really just depends on if we have dinner in the oven and how long that will take) and tackle an area of our home.  We just do this three days a week, but I feel it’s going to make a huge impact.  One day is surfaces, the next day is floors and the last day is bathrooms and just general “picking up” prior to the weekend when we’re more likely to have folks over.
  • Personal–Been a bit of an “off” week for me–very pendulum swinging from super slow to oh-my-gosh-how-did-my-day-become-so-crazy-am-I-gonna-survive?  I’m looking forward to a nice Sabbath rest on Sunday. And some crafting.

Mom Update: Mom was moved to a different room this week and has a roommate now!  I think this will be really great for her–we all can get lonely from time to time and being in a situation like she is, I’m sure it’s only compounded.  There are always adjustments, but we’ll make it work.  If you’d like her new room number (for card sending purposes) let me know!

Yummy Recipes! Again, with the crazy week that was, I don’t even remember the recipes from this week other than they were some old standards.  However, I did make some super yummy Cabbage Soup that was just amazing (even though I used purple cabbage so my leftovers the next day were quite colorful) and the most amazing Banana Carrot muffins.  There was no added honey or maple syrup and these bad boys were delish!  I was very proud that we didn’t devour them by Tuesday!  They were that good.  I forgot to take photos of either (Photo Phail!) but I’m sure they’ll both grace the menu again soon!

“Pinteresting” Things:  If you’re on pinterest, feel free to follow my boards!

Very cute “upcylced” Christmas tins–what a great re-use.  I’ll have to scour the Goodwill for some of these!

Upcycled Tins

This is an awesome bathroom–love the dark walls with the lighter fixtures and vintage accessories:

Dark and Light

Finally, I absolutely LOVE this vintage kids room–what a great idea to furnish a kids room on the {fairly} cheap!

Vintage Kids Room

Things I’m learning: Margin.  Balance.  Rest.  Themes I can’t seem to get away from. I question a lot that doesn’t show up on this blog and spent time in prayer and reflection wondering if my life is having the meaning it is intended to…(okay–so now it’s on the blog).  I want my life to mean something.  I want the business of my life to be for eternal and intentional gains; not personal ones for me or others.  Not quite sure what all this means, just a bit of what floats around in my head…

Interesting quote/Scripture:

“The dark does not destroy the light; it defines it. It’s our fear of the dark that casts our joy into the shadows.” p. 82, The Gift of Imperfection, Brene Brown 

“The light shines in the dark, and the dark has never extinguished it.” John 1:5

“You belong to the day and the light not to the night and the dark.” 1 Thessalonians 5:5

And now for some Kari Jobe-you were meant for more than this…

Hope you’ve had a great week!  Happy Weekend!

Leave a Reply

