I think it’s gonna do me some good…

Over the next week, I’ll be sharing on this little bloggy about the direction that I want to go in 2012.  We’ve all heard a number of quotes over the course of our lives about direction–“you can’t know where you’re going until you know where you’ve been” is one that really comes to mind.  When I think about the direction I want my life to go this next year; yes, I have to think about where I’ve been over the past few, but also, the best way for me to really get there–is to have a map. You’ll find my friends at iBloom talk about this a lot (no worries–I’ll tell you more about iBloom soon!)  Whether it’s Lola, our GPS; Lola 2, my smartphone or a AAA fold-able, the Beau and I almost always have a map to help us get to our destination when we travel.  The only times we don’t?  When it’s somewhere we’ve been a number of times–typically either of our parents homes, another relative or a close friend.

Word and Theme for 2012

So, where is my map taking me in 2012?  I’m so glad you asked!  I’ve heard lots of folks being inspired to adopt a word for the year  although, I’m not 100% certain where my inspiration came from.  My word encompasses something that transpires to my theme, goals and iChoose2 journey.  You see, our church went through this series a few months ago and it has just really resonated within me and I just can’t get away from it.  When I look at prominent figures in society and women and men that I see on pages of magazines and at awards shows (it is that time of year)–who am I drawn to?  I’m drawn to the ones who look STRONG.  I want to be strong– Physically, Spiritually, Emotionally and Mentally.  I want to be able to reach health goals that I set for my self once and for all.  I want to be committed to spiritual growth. I want to be more confident and of a sharp mind.  I want to be strong.

So what will this strength do?  I want to be strong–but what am I going to do with it?  Following from a quote I’ve heard so many times and used by my girl Erin Condren on last year’s planner (and I’m sure tucked away somewhere inside this years’ pages): a Goal is a dream with a deadline.  I want to be strong because I have dreams that cannot be met unless I become stronger.  I have dreams of clarifying my personal calling and mission–that’s going to take some mental and emotional fortitude.  I have dreams of running a 1/2 marathon.  I’ve ran 2- 5K’s and will run 7 miles this Saturday–but I’ve got 6.1 more to go to know what 13.1 will feel like.  I never thought I’d finish those 5K’s, but I did.  I WILL finish the 1/2.  Running is not easy by any means, but I find it has purpose.  It allows me to do something difficult and persevere until I finish. Three times a week. Something to do first thing I get up in the morning and then feel invincible for the rest of the day.  I have a dream of having my mom live in the same state as I do.  That hasn’t happened since I moved away to college over a decade ago and in recent years, it’s becoming more and more difficult for us to live so far apart.  Gonna take a lot of strength of mind, a lot of strength for patience and a lot of physical strength as we move her belongings.

We’ve got this area in our home that I’ve called “dibs” on since we purchased it.  It’s at the bottom of our staircase in this little landing where the kitchen, living room and entryway meet.  I don’t know what it’s purpose was–late 1800’s home, so who knows.  It’s not wide enough to hold a coat hanger, yet this odd little cut-out served some purpose; just like the odd little idiosyncrasies of my life will serve a purpose.  I’m so excited that this little nook, as I’ve deemed it, is about to serve it’s grand purpose in our home– Grand Central Station as it’ll be called.  Mail, calendars, grocery list, meals for the week, pens, my planner, the netbook, basket of running shoes on the bottom, shelf for purses and bags, magnetic strips, cork boards, wedding announcements, birthday reminders–you name it and the nook will take care of it. We’re about 25% of the way there on this project and I’m so incredibly stoked to get it finished.  One of the things I’m most excited about is hanging this sign on the back wall and having to walk by it probably 100 or more times a day.  I think it’s gonna do me some good.

Best,

Leave a Reply

