Foodie Friday!

It’s been quite a while, I know, but I’m stoked to share with you some meals that have been gracing our table lately. I have definitely been in a cooking “funk” after several super-busy weeks at work.  I have just not been as disciplined as I need to be in regards to meal-planning, grocery shopping and just being active enough in my am workouts to avoid they laziness that ensues around 6pm some night when I’d get home from work.  Thankfully, our table saw a change in that starting last week!  I made a couple pretty tasty Paleo “desserts” last week and a Pumpkin Spice Latte–I’m SURE they’ll be making a reappearance soon. Here are my meals from this week:

Monday, September 19th-Broccoli Salad, Grilled Chicken and Sauted Apples

Broccoli Salad, Chicken & Apples

Source: Broccoli Salad-Me & My Paleo, Chicken & Apples-Me

Me Rating: 7

This was really good for a throw together meal.  I didn’t have my own mayo as the salad recipe suggested–I’m hoping we’ll get a blender soon and can make our own.  It was really good for my first attempt at broccoli salad.  I also used Sunflower Seeds.  The chicken and apples were okay–I sauteed them in the bacon grease from the salad’s bacon and some cinnamon.  Yumm…

Tuesday, September 20th -Sausage and Apple Stuffed Acorn Squash

Sausage & Apple Stuffed Acorn Squash

Source:Simply In Season Cookbook

Beau Rating: 10!

This was sooooooo good!  After picking up our CSA on Monday and seeing an Acorn Squash, Butternut Squash and a HUGE sweet potato, I went straight for the SIS cookbook and flipped right to this recipe!  It was meant to be!  I did some alterations to make it paleo (Nixed the breadcrumbs), but honestly, I’m not sure they would ever be necessary anyway!  The sausage and apple had such good flavor.  Also, I added dried cranberries instead of raisins and pecans.  Also a little cinnamon (it’s the first of fall–why not?)  Definitely one to make again!

Thursday, September 22nd -Rosemary Garlic Steaks with Stuffed Banana Peppers

Rosemary & Garlic Marinated Steaks with Stuffed Banana Peppers

Source: Steak Marinade-Real Simple Magazine; Peppers-Me

Beau Rating: 9

I never thought he’d say this, but the Beau said the steaks had a little too much rosemary!  He’s a major fan, so I put extra on, not realizing it was a bit too much.  The peppers were delish!  We are enjoying our last few days of eating dairy before we do another strict Whole30 in October.  I put cream cheese, bacon, jalapenos, tomato and a bit of bleu cheese in the mixture.  Mmmm…

Ack!  I almost forgot about this meal–it was really good and super easy!

Wednesday, September 21st–Bacon & Eggs To Go

Bacon & Eggs To Go

Source: Health Bent

Rating: 9

The Beau’s been dying to try this so I grabbed some Canadian bacon at the store–major hit and a great addition to our “quick re-heatable breakfasts” rotation!  (Also notice some bleu cheese peaking through…)

What have YOU been eating this week?

Best,

~Faith Nicole

PS–Just realized there is some sort of bacon in 3 of 4 meals this week.  The beau will be proud.  🙂

2 thoughts on “Foodie Friday!

Leave a Reply

