Foodie Friday

Yes, I realize it’s not Friday, but I had an extra long weekend.  🙂

***********************************************************

I have been wanting to do this for sometime after lots of inspiration from my dear friend Melissa. She had this great idea of blogging her meals for the week with photos each Friday along with her “hubby rating”.  It’s been really fun for me the past week or so to cook and plan out our Foodie Friday especially since receiving some new cookbooks for my birthday. You’ll note our ratings (Lewie as the Beau and myself as Mylo) and recommendations for future “repeat offenders” as well. 🙂

Most of my super creative cooking happens on the weekends, so my Friday posts will include the previous weekend as well.  This starts actually on Saturday May 21st through Friday the 27th.

Saturday Lunch: Fish Enchiladas (no pic, sorry!)

  • Source: Everyday Paleo Cookbook
  • Beau Rating: 7

Got this out of the new Everyday Paleo cookbook, which many of these recipes found their start.  It was a good recipe and I was SUPER proud of making my own enchilada sauce with my new food processor (thanks birthday cash!).

I used tilapia and shrimp and between Lew, myself and Lew’s dad, we cleaned the dish along with some asparagus we’ve been getting in our CSA.  I grilled it on the stove top with some olive oil and sesame seeds–my favorite way so far of preparing it.

Saturday Dinner: Paleo Pad Thai

Paleo Pad Thai

This was knocked out of the park!  It was sooooo good! Lew actually sent this to me from The Clothes Make the Girl and we didn’t really alter it much.  I couldn’t find coconut aminos, so I used soy sauce for the sunshine sauce.  It was delicious! I could have added a bit more red pepper flakes during cooking to kick it up, but it was still out of the park–tastes the closest to REAL pad thai without using the noodles!

Sunday Crockpot Day: Harvest Stew (no pic, sorry!)

  • Source: Me!
  • Mylo Rating: 8

This is a great staple that I made up last fall.  The beau made this one as I was gone most of the morning singing at church.  It was very tasty as always, but the meat lacked a bit of seasoning.  🙂

It’s your basic stew, but with a twist–stew meat, carrots, red onion, sweet potato, and an apple!  Very much a fall treat, but not bad in spring either.

Monday Dinner: Pesto Pasta and Chicken

  • Source: Me (with assistance from EP!)
  • Beau Rating: 9

Petso Pasta and Chicken

This was a really great Faith Original!  🙂  I seared the chicken breast in coconut oil and then put it in the oven for about 25 minutes.  Once it was fully cooked, I plated the chicken then took the leftover spaghetti squash that we had from the Pad Thai and threw it in the hot skillet with a little olive oil.  The kicker was adding the Walnut Basil Pesto I had made the week prior with basil from the farmer’s market (another Everyday Paleo recipe!)  This was a GREAT way to use leftovers and the pesto.  Will definitely be making this one again!

Breakfast Tuesday-Friday: Egg Strata

Egg Strata

Yes, that’s right–this was one of Lew’s creations!  After stepping it up a bit myself and reading the Whole 9’s post on our dearly beloved bacon, the beau decided to get creative one morning.

I really liked the recipe–we actually had the exact type of tomatoes recommended (brand and everything–Diced tomatoes with Fire Roasted Tomatoes and Chipotle peppers).  Although I really liked the dish, the extra heat from the red pepper flakes in addition to the tomatoes was a bit much for me.  We probably could have used 1/2 a can of tomatoes and thew in some different veggies as well.  There will definitely be a next time on this one!  Was great to have breakfast all week already made!

Friday Dinner: Salmon Cakes with Ginger Mayo

  • Source: Everyday Paleo Cookbook
  • Beau Rating: Cakes: 9, with Ginger Mayo: 7

Salmon Cakes

This was one of the recipes in the EP cookbook I had been eyeing–Sarah says it was the recipe that really made her feel like she could get out of the “rut” of eating the same things over and over.  I can see why.  These were beautiful before frying, even better in the pan, and absolutely delicious.  The beau says they are probably the best tasting salmon cakes he’s ever had.  And there are NO CRACKERS or bread in it at all!  Crazy!  The addition of the dill and lemon juice I really think sets it off.

The Ginger Mayo was not quite as much of a hit.  It’s definitely in the Olive Oil we’re using–still the cheap stuff in bulk we bought probably a year ago.  Must definitely make the sacrifice to get some of the good stuff for things like this and the avocado dip I made last week that just tastes like strong EVOO.  Now I know though!

I hope you’ve enjoyed and will be encouraged to spice up your kitchen!

Best,

4 thoughts on “Foodie Friday

  1. Pingback: Weekly Roundup-January 27 « pliable

Leave a Reply

