Getting back into the swing…

“Getting back into the swing of things.”

Somewhat of an odd statement but one I find myself saying on occasion.  It’s probably been heard lately more frequently as we all have “gotten back into the swing” after the holiday hubbub.

I wanted to get back into the swing of blogging with this new year.  Baby steps, though, I often reminded myself.

One post a week will suffice.  You have a lot on your plate-getting the house ready for your housewarming, the Beau starting another intense class, navigating the swing of a new semester.

So far, I’m not doing too badly.  I’ve had visions of posts I’d hoped to have made–a snapshot of 2010 as my dear friend Melissa made, a house update (as those have been few and far between lately), some specifics on how I’m doing on some of my 2011 goals and the 15 to 30 ones.

But life happens.

I’ve been reading this new wordpress blog which encourages folks to post daily or weekly this year.  Perhaps I’ll archive the ideas they share and start one day….but today’s not that day.  Thoughts such as, “why did I start this blog” (not sure I’ve ever really addressed that directly…or maybe I have), “what are you looking forward to”, etc.  There are some good ideas but one has resonated with me deeply this week.

“What do you want to be remembered for?”

Early Thursday morning, my grandfather, Vency Enos Griffith, passed from this life to the next peacefully.  He was 88 years young, a beloved husband, father, grandfather, friend, and pastor who never met a stranger. He was married for 7 years to my birth grandmother, who died unexpectedly and is survived by my grandmother of 56 years. A brother to 19 siblings (yes, there were 20 total), father of 8 children, grandfather to 13 and great-grandfather to 8.*

He was loved.  And he loved.

Grandpa was a jokester.  He almost always said the prayer at family gatherings–many of them quite memorable–and was full of life, even in his last days.  He loved deeply and cared for those in his life.  As a minister and family man, I’ve learned so much from both my grandparents about being someone who takes care of family, but also responds to the needs of those around you–something we strive to do.

Grandpa was an Army veteran of World War II and the Korean Conflict and was present at the attack on Pearl Harbor. He participated in 3 major Pacific campaign battles and received numerous medals, including 2 Purple Hearts. After discharge from the service, Grandpa was ordained into the Church of the Brethren in 1955 and served in several different capacities for over 50 years, including pastoring 9 different congregations and touching innumerable lives.*

He served.

My grandparents spent weeks when I was young being the “Camp Grandparents” at a Church of the Brethren Camp in Virginia–Camp Bethel.  They would be there for the little tykes who got homesick, or needed a hug.  It’s the camp all my aunts and uncles went to as a child and I distinctly remember always going the weeks my grandparents served.  Not only were they the camp grandparents, but they were MY grandparents.  This meant when my granddad was in his late 60’s he was volunteering at church camp.  Unbelievable.

If I can be 88 with family surrounded by my side, having loved deeply not only family, but everyone I met, serving to the best of my ability even when the gray hairs are apparent and bones are achy–I will have had an amazing life.  That’s how I want to be remembered.

Grandpa–I’m sure you and God are going round and round about all those tricks and jokes you pulled over the years….look at that mischievous grin.

Grandpa-Thanksgiving 2010

From your loving granddaughter…getting into the swing of being like you,

 

* Taken from Obituary

4 thoughts on “Getting back into the swing…

  1. I stumbled upon your page while searching for funeral arrangements for Enos. Enos and Edith and the whole family lived next door to me when I was a little boy in Willis, Virginia while he was the pastor at Pleasant Hill Church of the Brethren. Even though I was only 5 or 6 when they moved away, I have wonderful memories of him. Carol Lena was one of my dearest childhood friends. Love and prayers to you and all of his wonderful family.

  2. Pingback: Reminders that strike you.. « pliable

Leave a Reply

