2011 Goals…

2011 Goals-January 3rd, 2011

So, here we are again with another year of goals ahead of us.   As always, some of the goals were successful (run a 5K–done Thanksgiving Day!), others not so much (reading 24 books…didn’t happen in the least).  However, I’m not giving up on setting goals.  As I was reminded yesterday at Crossroads, resolutions are meant to make us be better.  And that’s my goal for 2011.  I want to be better.

Now, you may say that I’m crazy….that’s such a broad and generic goal.  But that’s my goal.  Putting pen to paper on the specifics is good, but there is also something about resolving within yourself to do something or not to do something that makes you better.  One of those such things for myself in 2010 was to not eat McDonalds for anything other than ice cream/fruit parfait treats on occasion.  I can honestly say that less than 12 times this past year did I find myself in a McDonalds drive through for those treats and there was not one french fry or chicken mcnugget (my two favs) that crossed these lips.  Yes, a little silly of a goal maybe, but after watching several documentaries last year, including Food, Inc., I just couldn’t do it anymore.  Fast food all-together has pretty much become non-existent in my life and for that, I’m thankful.

So, on to the 2011 goal of “Being Better.”  Lewie and I each came up with 15 things we want to accomplish before we turn 30 a few months ago and a lot of the things we want to improve upon tie in directly with that list.  (You can see that full list here).  Being that having one “generic” goal was a little much, I had to break it down into some specific areas of my life in which I want to be better.  The list was getting to about 8 things when I decided I could stretch it to 12 so that I can focus my attention on one goal each month specifically.  In that same regard, I also came up with 12 scripture verses that I want to incorporate into memorization throughout this year.  Here are my 12 (in order):

  1. Organization
  2. Relationships
  3. Finances
  4. Health
  5. Creativity
  6. Home Projects
  7. The blog (yay!)
  8. Work
  9. Scentsy
  10. Giving
  11. Cooking
  12. Hospitality

So those are the areas I want to “be better” at in 2011.  In addition, I’ve broken down each month to have three small goals that I accomplish (and the beau has three as well) and three goals we accomplish together.  If we meet our goals each month then we get to reward ourselves with a little trips throughout the year! We already have two on the docket and I’m stoked!  2011 is going to be a great year!

PS–Check out the Beau’s 2011 goals here!

2 thoughts on “2011 Goals…

  1. I am a huge believer in goal setting. I remember in high school making three goals my freshmen year which I did meet and it made me proud. I then set some goals for my 20s which I also met for the most part (getting a college degree didn’t happen yet but…)

    My goal for 2011 is to love me. Whatever that may be. I want to be more accepting of myself and then also be more healthy.

  2. Pingback: Core Values | pliable

Leave a Reply

