I get by with a little help from my friends…

Put your seat belts on friend. This is gonna be a random post, but it’s one of those days where I have a lot on my mind that needs to get out.

Lend me your ears and I’ll sing you a song,

Yesterday was the first day of classes at Georgetown.  The first day I officially taught a class.  Now, I’ve helped coordinate freshman seminar for 3 years and was a Peer Leader myself in college, co-teaching along with a faculty member the in’s and out’s of collegiate life.  But now, I’m one of those faculty members.  I love it.

How do I feel by the end of the day?

Not only do I love teaching this class, but I love the first day of school in general.  I was greeted into the student center yesterday by a conversation with some colleagues and one enthusiastic faculty member exclaiming  love for the first day of school.  I’m not alone, I thought.

Are you sad because you’re on your own–nope, not at all alone in this love for day 1.

Lewie and I are moving in 5 days.  We’ve got to officially be out of our apartment in 7.  Our lives are a bunch of boxes and Rubbermaid totes at the apartment and sanded floors and dirt and dust at the house.  I’m putting my mad cleaning skills on tonight for a spin and got excited last night picking up the last of our cleaning supplies.

Speaking of moving, we have a slew of volunteers to help us who basically just found out we were moving and said, “alright–we’ll be there!” Can’t express how overwhelmed with gratitude I am.

Oh, I get by with a little help from my friends.

We bought a stove last night!  Very exciting times in our household as it seems baby steps closer to this move and living in the house is actually gonna happen.

Do you need anybody (or anything) ? I need somebody (thing) to love (cook on).

We booked a cabin for our anniversary weekend away last night!  Going back to the little spot outside Asheville we loved so much on our honeymoon!

Would you believe in a love at first sight?

Lastly, please say a prayer for my Mama.  I don’t talk about this much on here.  Not sure why, but it’s one of those things that consumes my thoughts most days so maybe this is my “protected zone” mentally.  Anyway, she is not doing well.  She has had many reactions to the medications she’s on to treat her latest diagnosis of Rheumatoid Vasculitis.   She’s had major headaches, is very weak, and yesterday after some follow-up tests, may have steroid induced diabetes.  I was a wreck last night wishing I could be with he as she’s so very scared and just tired.  This diagnosis of the new illness and the after affects of this have been going on since May.  I’d be tired too.  It’s very hard for me to deal with–being so far away when my Mom is so sick and I’m all she’s got (well, she’s got my Beau now too).

What do I do when my love is away. Does it worry you to be alone?

So, if you’re reading this, you are probably a dedicated reader and know me fairly well.  I’m an independent strong-willed, red-head who doesn’t like asking for help.

Do you need anybody?

Not this time.  I’m not gonna lie.  I need some help.  I’m so thankful for the help that I’ve been given–the family that I have in friends in Kentucky.  I never imagined when moving here 6 years ago (Happy KY Anniversary to me on August 16th) that I’d be so blessed and feel so at home with the friends I have here.  Each year those connections run deeper and wider of people who I know I can turn to in times of trouble.

I’m gonna try with a little help from my friends.

Someone posed the question yesterday, “is 100% authenticity possible today or does society demand we ‘fake it’?”

This is me being authentic.

What would you think if I sang out of tune, Would you stand up and walk out on me?

“With a little help from my friends” Written by John Lennon and Paul McCartney, 1967




4 thoughts on “I get by with a little help from my friends…

Leave a Reply

