Foodie Friday: Thai Shrimp with Peanut Sauce

Thai Shrimp w/ Peanut Sauce

As I mentioned earlier this week, we have been getting veggies from a local farm through a CSA.  Since we have already paid for these veggies and it would go against our green ways of thinking, we have been doing our best to use every lick of veggie that comes into our house.  Does it always happen?  Heck no! But we try.

I was excited last week when I saw a little cup of pea pods in my basket knowing I had the perfect recipe for them!  I had made this recipe before (with a few alterations) and it turned out really well, but this was soooo good with the fresh pea pods (instead of frozen)!  The original recipe came from the Better Homes & Gardens Cookbook that my lovely little Mom got me a few years ago.  Mom got on a trip of getting me cookbooks for every possible occasion.  I am super thankful now for that though!

The original recipe is for a Turkey and Peas Pasta, but I’ve altered it to be more Gluten Free (my friend Maria did a great post about going Gluten Free.  We haven’t done that completely, but tinker with it).  Plus, I never have the turkey the original recipe calls for, so I substituted chicken the first time, but after going with the shrimp, I’ll never go back.  If you’re a seafood lover, you won’t either.  (But for those not so friendly with crustaceans, the chicken isn’t a bad choice).

Get ready to fall in love.

Thai Shrimp w/ Peanut Sauce

-1/2 package of medium rice noodles (found at Asian grocery store)
-2 c. fresh pea pods (tips trimmed) or 6 oz frozen
-20 medium, pre-cooked, frozen shrimp (thawed)–you can also use chicken if you aren’t a fan of seafood
-1-8 oz can pineapple chunks/tidbits or 1 c. fresh pineapple
-1/2 c. reduced sodium chicken broth
-2 tbsp. creamy peanut butter
-1 tbsp reduced sodium soy sauce
-1 tbsp lime juice
-1/4 tsp. crushed red pepper
-1 clove garlic, minced

-Bring water to a boil, add rice noodles and remove from heat (noodles will cook to right consistency in hot water).  Leave for 5 minutes
-Trim ends of pea pods and wash.  Leave in colander
-Saute shrimp with salt and pepper to taste in a bit of Olive Oil (don’t forget about these little babies!)
-In a small sauce pot over medium heat, add peanut butter and chicken broth, stir slowly until PB melts.  Add soy sauce, lime juice, red pepper and garlic and stir until a fairly thin consistency (I honestly eyeballed all these ingredients)
-Drain pasta water over the pea pods.  Add pineapple and return to pot.
-Add shrimp and peanut sauce, stir and serve.  Garnish with crushed peanuts and red pepper flakes.

*Note-pea pods will be crunchy

Final Product

Hope you try it!  If so, come back and let me know what you think!

Best,

3 thoughts on “Foodie Friday: Thai Shrimp with Peanut Sauce

  1. Faith! Just love your blog, your humor, your honesty! This look awesome and I’m so pumped yall do CSA- I want the details when we get to gtown b/c we’re jumping on the bandwagon for sure 🙂

Leave a Reply

