Life is a constant Advent season: we are continually waiting to become, to discover, to complete, to fulfill. Hope, struggle, fear, expectation and fulfillment are all part of our Advent experience.

This really seems to echo the sentiment I feel in my heart the most at this point in the advent season.  I’ll have to admit the past few weeks have been a bit down as I just had not quite gotten the holiday spirit.  A few crazy weeks had me drained on all levels–emotionally, mentally, physically and spiritually.  I go through these cycles of knowing what my goals are and wondering if I will ever reach them.

This is such a great reminder that life is somewhat cyclical and that some sense of expectation is always going to bet there.  Even if those goals are met, they change.  We change.  Nothing is ever fully “finished” on this earth. We are in a constant place of rebirth, discovery and preparation.

Father, help my heart to continue to remember this as my head gets in the way from time to time.

Leave a Reply

