You wanna do what?

jogging1I don’t know what it is, but I’ve always been infatuated with running.  I’m not very athletic, didn’t play sports in school and used to hate physical fitness tests ESPECIALLY the mile.

So why have I recently been fascinated with this desire to be a runner?  Maybe it’s the family members who are athletic and have ran the Boston.  Maybe it’s the increasing awareness that I’m closer to 30 than 20.  Maybe it’s realizing that I want to be healthy for the long-haul and running is a free way to get there.  Maybe it’s that scene in “What Women Want” with the shoes pounding the pavement.  For whatever reason, I am determined to get there.

I’ve struggled with my weight for the longest time and although running isn’t a sure-fire way to shed the pounds, it’s got to help.  So, one of my main goals for 2009 is to run a 5K.  That’s right.  3.1 miles.   I’m a novice. I have researched what I should be doing because I’m clueless.  I’ve watched Spirit of the Marathon and  Marathon Challenge (and have a new hero in Red-Headed Betsey). I have family who have given me tips and pointers, friends who have completed marathons and I’m furiously picking their brain.

I know there are lots of people out there who are trying to get healthy for a multitude of reasons and I hope that these Weekly Wednesday updates will be a bit of inspiration (plus some post “Biggest Loser” thoughts..gosh, I love that show!).  I’m not telling you what you should do from a professionals perspective or giving you sure-fire advice (if you have any, please comment!)  All I’m here to do is to tell you what I’m doing.  What is working for me TODAY.

I told someone a month or so ago that I think with accountability, you can accomplish anything in life.  I have great accountability in Lewie, but I’m bringing the rest of you on board as well!  I will cross that finish line if I’m crawling this year…no doubt!

Here are some things I’ve found to help out thus far:

  • Tracking your  workouts. I’ve been using Daily Mile. This is a great site that incorporates Social Networking with Training.  You can log your workouts, give others encouragement and find local races.
  • Find the right mix.  I’m using PodRunners First Day to 5K which takes you from ground zero to running a 5K in 9 Weeks.  It gives you chimes on when to change from walking to jogging and has some great mixes.  I LOVE THIS!!!
  • Where to run. I had been running on the treadmill in our REC Center and found the transitions on the intervals on PodRunner a bear having to manually transition the treadmill.  I ran at a local park over Christmas in VA and loved being outside and able to control my own transitions between walking and jogging.
  • What to wear.  I’m no fashionista, but being comfy while I’m jogging is a MUST.  For me fabric is everything–finding something that you can move in, yet will not “ride up” in any unmentionable places is KEY.  Shoes are also key.  Don’t fret–invest.   🙂
  • Accountability.  This is a must.  Find someone whom you love and loves you enough to challenge you.  There will be rough days—no one is perfect.  But there is also tough love.  I hope that if I have an “off” week, you’ll encourage me, but bust my chops too.  There are at least 2, maybe 3 5K’s I have my eyes set on this year and I will RUN them.

Sure, I might be crazy.  But here’s the real deal–my REAL motivation.  There are two very important people in my life who would LOVE to walk with no pain or walk at all–my mom who has arthritis and Lewie’s best friend Parker, who is paralyzed.  When it comes right down to it, I’ve spent too much time these past 27 years being lazy and there are two people who would give anything to be in my shoes.

I’m running for them.

6 thoughts on “You wanna do what?

  1. YEA!!! OK, you know me, just did my first one this Thanksgiving and now I’m doing a 10 miler in May – you’ll get HOOKED and FAST!!! I love it. I love my Asic running shoes, love so I would def rec those… my dad and friends use them too. I would also rec running to music, it helped me so much. YEA!!! I am so excited, proud, overcome, elated for you!!!!

  2. Yes, the Asics are great–I got some over the holiday! Maybe we can find a race midway between KY and Phily someday? Love you girl!

  3. Great post Faithie Nic! You’ve definitely inspired me as well. Have I mentioned lately what an incredible writer you are?!?! Thanks for all the great insight, tips, and motivation. Love you!

  4. Faith – What great inspiration. Once you get this under your belt you should consider the Leukemia Society’s Team in Training Program. Hope to see you soon! Happy New Year

  5. What can I say, niece of mine?!? You have really got me thinking about a goal for myself as well. I concur with Kelly that your are a great writer and an inspiration to all who take the time to visit your blog. I’m so proud of you. The power of goals and the will to achieve can never be underestimated. With the love and support of those who know you and the knowledge that the Big Three are with you always will make this goal a reality. Will be watching for updates!

Leave a Reply

