First Day of Fall–YAY!!!

On this first day of fall, I thought I’d share my apple crisp recipe…Fall…oh, how I love thee.

Hope you can enjoy this season with a nice warm mug of apple cider! YUM!!!

Apples–I normally cut up 4-5 good baking apples (gala, granny smith, whatever you like best) and put them in a round baking dish. Sprinkle 1/2c. sugar (or splenda) on top with cinnamon, apple pie spice, nutmeg, go CRAZY if you want. )

The topping–1c. brown sugar, 1c. flour, 1 stick of butter (melted) and instant oats until it’s the consistency you like. Normally I would use 1 c. of oats, but I started using splenda brown sugar and whole wheat flour, so I’m only using about a 1/2 c. of oats.

Bake at 350 for about 45 minutes until the apples are done and the top is golden brown.

Bittersweet October. The mellow, messy, leaf-kicking, perfect pause between the opposing miseries of summer and winter. ~Carol Bishop Hipps

Winter is an etching, spring a watercolor, summer an oil painting and autumn a mosaic of them all. ~Stanley Horowitz

(Originally posted October 1, 2007)

Leave a Reply

