Calm My Anxious Heart

After a great, relaxing weekend, I was perusing my own personal library last night for just the right book to pick up as I closed out my minds thoughts on the weekend and prepared for the week ahead. Last week was a great week, but some things that were out of my control just made me a bit more anxious about life right now and the life that will transpire for the me in the next few months.

I picked up this great read by Linda Dillow that I read a few years back when approaching a similar transition and it’s words were so comforting. I hope that you will be able to glean some of this wisdom if you are going through a similar time in life at the moment.

From “Calm My Anxious Heart”

Prescription for Contentment:
-Never allow yourself to complain about anything–not even the weather.
-Never picture yourself in any other circumstances or someplace else.
-Never compare your lot with another’s.
-Never allow yourself to wish this or that had been otherwise.
-Never dwell on tomorrow–remember that [tomorrow] is God’s, not ours.

Philippians 4:11-13
11
I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances.
12I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.13I can do all this through him who gives me strength.

One thought on “Calm My Anxious Heart

Leave a Reply

