A week (or two) of thoughts….

I’ve spent the betterment of the past few weeks deep in thought, exercising my “strength” of intellection (Intellection–People strong in the Intellection theme are characterized by their intellectual activity. They are introspective and appreciate intellectual discussions–Gallup’s Strengthsfinder.)

I’m still processing a lot of my thoughts, thus the reason for few blog entries. Sometimes we need to sit with the messages we’ve been given and let them resonate within. I love to talk and share what I am learning, but sometimes the messages change–or rather what I hear in them change as I am being changed.

I’ve been pondering at the amazing ways God has chosen to be present in the midst of my question, my doubts, the cloudy haze with moments of great clarity.

A few moments of Henri Nouwen at Barnes and Noble this afternoon helped me especially.

It’s remarkable that solitude always calls us to community. In solitude, you come to know yourself as vulnerable and broken yet beloved by God. In solitude, you realize that you are apart of a human family and that you want to be together with others.

True community is not loneliness grabbing at loneliness. True community is solitude greeting solitude.

Spiritual Direction: Wisdom for the Long Walk of Faith; Henri Nouwen


I know God is stirring in me. God is stirring.

God, thank you for allowing me to find solitude in my life. To find the joy and love and peace amidst the hectic days that I have been surrounded with lately. Help me to see you in these times. Help me to appreciate the community that forms out of the practice of solitude.

One thought on “A week (or two) of thoughts….

  1. Well said Faith! I can tell how much God has been calling you to a time of solitude, and I hope He reveals a new side of Himself to you as you seek Him in your quiet time.

Leave a Reply

