My Own Pride and Prejudice

This weekend I was quite fortunate to get a lot done around the house and take in some movies. One of those was the new Pride and Prejudice with Kiera Knightly. I don’t want to give too much away for those of you who may not have seen the movie yet, but Liz spends the entire movie–all the way up to the last 15 minutes–searching. So two hours of this brilliant film is of her struggle of fighting against Mr. Darcy, realizing what she wants (in Mr. Darcy) and then the utter turmoil of knowing that, but not being able to admit it (due to the horrible way she had treated him in the beginning). God is teaching me a lot lately about now nicely I want my life to fit together in this masterpiece. I want the American Dream. I want the successful career. I want a full life surrounded by family and friends. But what if I spend my entire life struggling, realizing truths, in turmoil, and then finally accepting what I’ve been searching for all along. Will I see my own “Pride and Prejudice” as a masterpiece?

I have always been mesmerized with Mosaic Tiles and God really used that recently to remind me that just as I see their beauty, order in the chaos, the masterpiece out of brokenness, that maybe that is the puzzle of my life God is putting together. It’s not a nice jigsaw, where everything is pieced together just perfectly. But the beauty in the brokenness has a careful artist who has taken time to put together the small details of the chaos, pay attention to things that seem insignificant, and create a work of art that tells a story not just in it’s existence, but in it’s creation as well.

2 thoughts on “My Own Pride and Prejudice

  1. Pingback: It’s good to be loved. « pliable

  2. Pingback: Perfection is not the point « pliable

Leave a Reply

